Check for the latest information and service updates as we respond to COVID-19.

Mission, BC—District of Mission Council presented twenty-two different community service awards during the first-ever Virtual Community Service Awards Ceremony to celebrate local volunteers working throughout Mission in sectors ranging from non-profit, to sport, to culture, and the environment. The awards ceremony premiered yesterday evening on the District’s social media channels and is now available to watch online at

In typical years, the Community Service Awards Ceremony would have been held at the Clarke Theatre with hundreds of community members in attendance. This year’s virtual ceremony, however, was planned to keep aligned with the COVID-19 safety measures ordered by the Provincial Health Officer.

The ceremony was hosted by Barry Mcleod, Mission’s Citizen of the Year for 2018, and took place at Municipal Hall. Most of the filming was done at the end of October over the course of a full day during timed segments in order to maximize physical distancing and cleaning protocols.

“A virtual ceremony allowed us to offer a different experience of the awards than we could have in the traditional in-person gala format,” said Acting Mayor Cal Crawford.

“The video features short behind-the-scenes clips from each award recipient talking candidly about why they volunteer and what keeps them going. It’s inspiring to hear these stories and I’m proud to be living in a community where we have such dedicated people. I encourage everyone to take some time to watch this awards ceremony,” he said.

In addition to behind-the-scenes stories, the video also includes a segment about the District’s ongoing I Love Mission campaign, a partner-led initiative that encourages the community to eat, shop and support local not just now during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, but into the future.

The District of Mission presents the Community Service Awards every two years to formally acknowledge the exemplary volunteers who are hard at work enriching our community each and everyday.

The next nomination period will open in the fall of 2021. Details about the nomination process and deadlines will be available on

2020 Award Recipients

Citizen of the Year Award – Rocky Blondin
Community Service Award – Carol Pomeroy
Special Accomplishment Award – Stave Valley Salmonid Enhancement Society
Community Service Award (under age 25) – Sabastien (Obi) Onyemaobi
Lifetime Achievement Award – St. Joseph’s Food Bank and Its Volunteers
Community Service Award – Simone Redburn
Sports Volunteer of the Year Award – Brenda Davison
Against the Odds Achievement Award – Jean-Pierre Maher
Special Accomplishment Award – Mission Health Care Auxiliary Society
Lifetime Achievement Award – Jim Hinds
Crime Prevention & Community Safety Award – Dwight Elliott
Sports Volunteer of the Year Award – Andrew Hale
Arts and Culture Award – Helen Yannacopoulos
Special Recognition Award – John Glendon (Glen) Flett
Lifetime Achievement Award – Mission Community Services Society Food Centre and Christmas Bureau and Its Volunteers
Community Service Award – Angel Elias
Lifetime Achievement Award – MCC Thrift Shop Volunteers
Community Service Award – Bert Pulles
Community Service Award – Elke Katzenbach
Lifetime Achievement Award – Peter Robson
Freeman of the City Medal – Lloyd Rash
Freeman of the City Medal – Ken Selvaraja
Learn more about the recipients, read their biographies and watch the ceremony at

– 30 –

Program Contact

Christine Brough
Executive Assistant
Corporate Administration
Phone: 604-820-3703

Media Contact

Taryn Hubbard
Manager, Communications and Public Engagement
Corporate Administration
Phone: 604-820-3732