Fraser Valley Regional District Presentation:

Council adopted the Fraser Valley Regional District Regional Solid Waste Management Service Area Establishment Bylaw related to advancing the Regional Solid Waste Program and source-separation for the industrial, commercial and institutional sectors.


1st Avenue Improvement Project Update:

Staff provided an update to Council on the 1st Avenue improvement project, currently on schedule and within the approved budget. Storyboards are on display in the downtown core and more information is available at


2017/2018 Winter Ice Storm Results:

Staff compiled expenses related to the 2017/2018 winter ice storm. The District of Mission received $75,178 in reimbursement from Emergency Management British Columbia for expenses incurred during the local state of emergency, and incurred an additional $629,634 of expenses across Public Works and Parks, Recreation & Culture during cleanup. During the free drop-off period the landfill accepted 880 tonnes of debris related to the ice storm at a cost of $39,000.


Transit Expansion Commitment:

The District of Mission will enter into a memorandum of understanding with BC Transit on transit service expansion as part of the 2017-2020 BC Transit Improvement Program. The U-PASS program has also been extended for a period of up to 2 years to August 31, 2020.


BC Transit Update:

BC Transit provided an update on the new operations facility for a fleet of 150 busses. BC Transit has completed schematic designs, procurement and rezoning is underway and they have set a completion date of March 2020.


RCMP 2019-2020 Budget Estimate:

A Letter of Approval in Principle for the RCMP 2019/2020 budget estimates was approved for forwarding to the Ministry of Justice and the RCMP. The estimated financial impact including removing funding from surplus for the one additional RCMP member added during the 2018 budget discussions is $444,000, creating a potential tax impact of 1.41%.


Economic Development Select Committee:

The following individuals have been appointed to the Economic Development Select Committee for a two-year term commencing July, 2018:

  • Ms Lesa Lacy
  • Mr. Wade Peary
  • Ms. Pia Ritch
  • Mr. Dan Schubert
  • Mr. Raymond Szabada
  • Mr. Edgar Sarfeld
  • Mr. Beverley Toews
  • Mr. Craig Toews
  • Mr. Sean Melia
  • Mr. Greg McPhail
%d bloggers like this: