These highlights are a synopsis of the September 16, 2019 Regular Meeting of Council. Visit to read the complete agenda or watch the recorded webcast of the meeting.


September 20-27 has been proclaimed “Earth’s Climate Crisis Awareness Week” within the District of Mission. October 2 will be “Wrongful Conviction Day”; and the week October 6-12 has been declared “Fire Prevention Week”.

Traffic Calming Policy Update

The Engineering Department provided Council with an update on the traffic calming policy that is currently under review. The report detailed a plan to put in place the traffic calming measures on a trial basis to assess the effectiveness of the policy at the end of the trial period. Updates also included the consolidation of funding, reducing staff oversight lead times, and the removal of the resident advisory component.

Climate Change Strategy Joint Submission

Mission will be joining the Districts of Squamish and Tofino in a joint response to the BC Ministry of Environment and Climate Change with respect to proposed amendments to the recycling regulation of the Environmental Management Act.  For more information about these proposed changes, see the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change’s website.

2020 Permissive Tax Exemption Applications

The District received permissive tax exemption applications from eight non-profit organizations for 13 properties. Under the Community Charter, a council may exempt certain properties from taxation with a 2/3 majority vote. For the 2020 taxation year, Council is considering allowing exemptions for all 13 properties, and the total estimated amount of forgone municipal taxes is $76,758.  Organizations benefiting from permissive tax exemptions are still required to pay all applicable utility fees such as water, sewer, garbage and recycling.

Mission Sustainable Housing Committee Appointments

The following individuals were appointed to the Mission Sustainable Housing Committee for two-year terms, commencing October 3, 2019 and ending October 2, 2021: Gerald Heinrichs, as the “housing provider, builder or housing agency” representative; and Annie Charker, as the “citizen” representative.