Check for the latest information and service updates as we respond to COVID-19.

Community Service Awards

2018 Mission Community Service Awards

Mission Community Service Awards

The District of Mission Community Service Awards honour those who have demonstrated exemplary volunteerism within our community. Celebrated biennially, the awards ceremony takes place at the Clarke Theatre.  The 2020 event has been postponed from April 23, 2020 to Thursday, October 29, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.   This is a free community event and the public is encouraged to attend.

2020 Award Recipients List:


Jean-Pierre Maher – Against the Odds Achievement Award

Helen Yannacopoulos – Arts and Culture Award

Rocky Blondin – Citizen of the Year Award

Sabastien (Obi) Onyemaobi – Community Service Award (under age 25)

Angel Elias – Community Service Award

Elke Katzenbach – Community Service Award

Carol Pomeroy – Community Service Award

Bert Pulles – Community Service Award

Simone Redburn – Community Service Award

Dwight Elliott – Crime Prevention & Community Safety Award

Lloyd Rash – Freeman of the City Award/Medal

Ken Selvaraja – Freeman of the City Award/Medal

Jim Hinds – Lifetime Achievement Award

MCC Thrift Shop Volunteers – Lifetime Achievement Award

MCSS Food Centre & Christmas Bureau – Lifetime Achievement Award

Peter Robson – Lifetime Achievement Award

St. Joseph’s Food Bank – Lifetime Achievement Award

Mission Health Care Auxiliary Society – Special Accomplishment Award

Stave Valley Salmonid Enhancement Society – Special Accomplishment Award

John Glendon (Glen) Flett – Special Recognition Award

Brenda Davison – Sports Volunteer of the Year Award

Andrew Hale – Sports Volunteer of the Year Award

The ceremony will be followed by a coffee and dessert reception.  All members of the community are encouraged to attend.

For more information on the Community Service Awards, or if you have any questions about the nomination process or ceremony, please contact Christine Brough, Executive Assistant, at 604-820-3703 or

Photo of Award Certificates
Photo of 2016 Freeman
Photo of Mayor Hawes and MP Sidhu