Community Service Awards


The City of Mission Community Service Awards honour those who have demonstrated exemplary volunteerism within our community.  Celebrated biennially, the most recent awards ceremony took place on April 11, 2024 at the Clarke Theatre.  The next awards ceremony will take place in the spring of 2026 with the call for nominations period commencing in the fall of 2025. 

2024 Community Service Award Recipients

In 2024, Council had the honour of recognizing 28 outstanding residents for their commitment to the community and their volunteerism.   Read their write-ups [PDF/6.5MB] to learn more about them.

Sylvia Hanson - Community Service Award
Linsey Legault - Community Service Award 
Erin Osterberg - Community Service Award 
Pat Rennison - Community Service Award 
Erica Robinson - Community Service Award 
Sydney Cvitkovich - Community Service Award (Under Age 25) 
Mission Interact Club - Community Service Award (Under Age 25)
Joban Kahlon - Crime Prevention & Safety Award
Jessie Kaler - Crime Prevention & Safety Award
Chandell Martin - Crime Prevention & Safety Award
Michael Roux - Crime Prevention & Safety Award
Sukhman Sidhu - Crime Prevention & Safety Award
Mission Punj-Aab Culture Club – Jenny Stevens Diversity and Inclusion Award
Brad Craig - Sports Volunteer of the Year Award
Erin Parkes - Sports Volunteer of the Year Award
Nathan Reist - Sports Volunteer of the Year Award
Shelden Thompson - Sports Volunteer of the Year Award 
Starfish Backpack Program - Special Accomplishment Award
Tim White - Special Accomplishment Award 
Bryan Bodell - Lifetime Achievement Award 
Elspeth Bowers - Lifetime Achievement Award 
Lloyd Davies - Lifetime Achievement Award 
George Donatelli - Lifetime Achievement Award 
Louise Lacerte - Lifetime Achievement Award 
Glen Robertson - Lifetime Achievement Award 
Janet Chalmers and Roger Dowker – 2024 Citizens of the Year Award
Joy Cox - Freedom of the City Medal
Robert (Bob) Ingram - Freedom of the City Medal

Award Categories

Freedom of the City Medals

The Freedom of the City is the highest award that Council can confer and is given for conspicuously exceptional and distinguished community service.  

This award is presented at the biennial Community Service Awards Ceremony but is not part of the Call for Nominations process.

Community Service Award Videos

2024 Ceremony Video

2022 Ceremony Video